Gauteng Province

GautengLogo_1  GautengLogo_1


Gauteng covers just over 17 000sq km - approximately 1.4% of the total land surface of South Africa. It is the smallest of the nine provinces. Despite its size, Gauteng is home to approximately 8 million people.

In the seSotho languages 'Gauteng' means 'Place of Gold', which is appropriate as the province has its economic and historic roots in the thriving gold industry that was sparked off by the discovery of gold in Johannesburg in 1886.

Gauteng boasts more than 60 museums (more than any other province) which serve as revealing windows on a rich natural and cultural heritage.

Johannesburg's Newtown Cultural Precinct accommodates some of the most dynamic museums. Chief among them is Museum Africa, which first opened its doors to the public in 1994. Part of Johannesburg's first fresh produce market, it was converted into the now 11 000 square metre museum. Museum Africa is unique in South Africa for its bold attempt to tell the story of life from the Stone Age to the Nuclear Age and beyond.